Where am I planted?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are days when I wake up

L I F E L E S S

Like an empty shell

An overused machine

A restless warrior

I stare blankly

At the ceiling

With limbs paralyzed

Soul dried up

Soot all over my heart

All I’d want is to pause time

And crawl back

To a long and deep slumber

There are days like this

When I wonder

Where has my faith gone

How did I allow an unwanted guest

This faint, anxious, downcast spirit

To creep into my core?

And then I remember

That I’m plugged into the wrong source

I’ve shifted from the overflowing fountain of Grace

Into my limited well of Might

I’ve forgotten how to live planted by the river

And chose this barren, parched land

I drew my purpose and strength

From what this world can offer me

Ignoring that firm yet gentle voice

Coming from a place beyond the temporal

Unseen by the naked eye

There is fullness of life that awaits me

If only I remain and maintain

The confidence, hope and reliance

In Him who knows me inside and out

Who have seen my future

And beheld me with great love

In His promises that were never ever

And will never be

Founded in the darkness of lies

So now I realize

Why there are lifeless, exhausting and troubled days

I should have not moved

From where I was meant to be planted

Deepen my roots, flourish and shine

If only I fully understood

And embraced this timeless truth

I wouldn’t be wasting time

Fretting when drought comes

When  worry and fear glide through my door

For I have a choice whether to

Wander in that vast wilderness

Or delight while thriving

In the richness of a pristine field

In a place that has always

Been M Y   H O M E.

 


Inspired from:

Jeremiah 17:5-8 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition 

Thus says the Lord: Cursed [with great evil] is the strong man who trusts in and relies on frail man, making weak [human] flesh his arm, and whose mind and heart turn aside from the Lord.

For he shall be like a shrub or a person naked and destitute in the desert; and he shall not see any good come, but shall dwell in the parched places in the wilderness, in an uninhabited salt land.

[Most] blessed is the man who believes in, trusts in, and relies on the Lord, and whose hope and confidence the Lord is.

For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters that spreads out its roots by the river; and it shall not see and fear when heat comes; but its leaf shall be green. It shall not be anxious and full of care in the year of drought, nor shall it cease yielding fruit.

 

Jeremiah 17:5-8 Amplified Bible 


Thus says the Lord,
“Cursed is the man who trusts in and relies on mankind,
Making [weak, faulty human] flesh his strength,
And whose mind and heart turn away from the Lord.

“For he will be like a shrub in the [parched] desert;
And shall not see prosperity when it comes,
But shall live in the rocky places of the wilderness,
In an uninhabited salt land.

“Blessed [with spiritual security] is the man who believes andtrusts in and relies on the Lord
And whose hope and confident expectation is the Lord.

“For he will be [nourished] like a tree planted by the waters,
That spreads out its roots by the river;
And will not fear the heat when it comes;
But its leaves will be green and moist.
And it will not be anxious and concerned in a year of drought
Nor stop bearing fruit.

 

Jeremiah 17:5-8 New Living Translation

Wisdom from the Lord

This is what the Lord says:
“Cursed are those who put their trust in mere humans,
    who rely on human strength
    and turn their hearts away from the Lord.
They are like stunted shrubs in the desert,
    with no hope for the future.
They will live in the barren wilderness,
    in an uninhabited salty land.

“But blessed are those who trust in the Lord
    and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.
They are like trees planted along a riverbank,
    with roots that reach deep into the water.
Such trees are not bothered by the heat
    or worried by long months of drought.
Their leaves stay green,
    and they never stop producing fruit.

 


Images from:

https://phys.org/news/2015-02-kyoto-protocol.html

http://cogop.org/blog/be-like-a-tree-planted-by-streams-of-water/

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑